Friday, June 12, 2009

Essential Listening; 'G R A C E' by Jeff Buckley

'Grace' the album is the first and the last complete studio album from Jeff Buckley. He is one of my personal favorite singer (a kind of hero), songwriter, musician, artist that i truly admired. Grace the album was a creation of excessive training, jamming and performing in pubs & clubs in New York City, which what Jeff did before he end up in a small cozy placed called Sin-e. It is here Jeff began to create his own sound and style. The year was 1993 when the album 'Grace' was made. It's a year of grunge explosion or i may call it a year of Nirvana. Most everybody at that time teens or adult are hooked to the sound of Kurt Cobain. Meanwhile, this rising star had just finish this album that he wanted to sound like Jeff Buckley himself. it's not a grunge album nor a rock album, but it does fell into alternative genre. I can agree with that, but not forgetting it does carry the one & only trademark of Jeff Buckley. It has this balanced of joy and a hidden sadness from the track list of this album. 'Grace has it riff and mellow that just balanced enough in creating a great album such as this.
'GRACE' Track List:
  1. Mojo Pin
  2. G r a ce
  3. Last Goodbye
  4. Lilac Wine
  5. So Real
  6. Hal lel uja h
  7. Lover, You Should Come Over
  8. Corpus Christi Carol
  9. Eternal Life
  10. Dream Brother
  11. Forget Her
The opening track of the album will give listener a catchy promising that this album will sound great. Mojo Pin starts with Jeff hymn from the background before bursting with this number. The song that really shakes & showed an edgier side of Jeff is the killer song's 'Grace', Mojo Pin, Dream Brother & Eternal Life, But the true gem here is, 'Grace' itself. The way this song was written by Jeff himself is kinda' a Dee ja vu. Jeff seems to know that he might not live long enough to glorify his success. Grace talks about ones who is felt of dying & not worrying it, he bravely saying goodbye to the closest friends, praising god & welcoming him to come & take him back gracefully. Believe it or not, dear friend this metaphor did really happened to our dear Jeff whereby he was drowned in Mississippi-river on may 29 1997 & his body was only to be found on June 4, 1997. He was at his peak and a legend in-make. Sadly it never happened, but with all this mainstreams and loyal fan that kept him alive in his music until today.
Now the true killer songs on this album lies in the melancholy tunes such as Lover, you should come over, So Real, Forget Her, Corpus Christi Carol,and a Leonard Cohen cover Hallelujah, & the not so melancholy 'Last Goodbye'. The song was featured in Cameron Crowe's Version of ' Vanilla Sky' starred by Tom Cruise & Penelope Cruz. Every time when i listened to 'Last Goodbye' it sort of bringing this joyful feeling, but this song is actually talks about biting farewell to your loves ones. the strength of the album is a result from Jeff Unique voices & his ability as a guitar player. His voices is really one of a kind & can be mimic easily. hearing his voice sometimes make me wonder this is a voice of angel & because of that god wont let him stay long with us because we might be astonished by him so much. You will not get bored with his style of singing caused his a great singer gifted with this tremendous voice. The lyrics and the tunes floats so well that you don't realized that after first times listening to the album that you already reach the last number on the album.

My personal favorite will be Hall elu jah, Last Goodbye, Lover,you should come Over, Grace and Lilac Wine. The song was also sang by Katie Melua in her debut album. Grace truly deserved a 5 star classics rating from me after repeats listening. Its an album that ones won't really get tired playing it on a stereo system on and on, & that i promised you.
Jeff Buckley band actually supported by Mick Grondahl; Bass, Matt Johnson; Drums And Micheal Tighe; Guitar. The sound quality of this album is superb. another product Form Sony Colombia Records. It's also comes with interactive track tittle notification. 'Grace' was produced, engineered & mix by Andy Wallace and Jeff himself wants this album to be absolute perfect & in my personal point of view, he just did it in his on way. The album sound rich and when start to kicking with harder tunes it strength just right to rock listener without letting you to turn down a volume a little bit when it get really louder on a certain track. It is worth men's every penny to buy this album without considering what er you a blues man or a jazz man or a rockers, it just sheer beauty that everyone should listen &enjoy to this masterpiece created by this hero of mine 'Jeff Buckley'.
5 stars!!! Sheer Beauty with evergreen Quality! Magnifique & Astounding! Ladies & Gentlemen now go & grab yourselves one of this. Highly Recommended for everybody!

No comments:

Post a Comment